The first settlers to the Town of Thompson in 1749 were farmers David Gray and Z. Hatch, who put down roots in the vicinity of Dutch Pond.
The Town of Thompson was named after William A. Thompson, a native of Litchfield County, Connecticut. He was a miller who arrived in the area in 1794. Thompson bought land and built a settlement near what was then known as Albion. Thompson, who later became a judge, and his family are buried in a historical cemetery behind the present
Thompsonville Post Office.
Thompson, taken from the Town of Mamakating, was formed by an act of the State Legislature in April 1803. The Village of Monticello was incorporated in 1830. The first town meeting of Thompson was held at the house of Abraham Warring, who kept a tavern in Thompsonville.
Want to Dive Deeper into Town History?
Then talk to the Town Historian! You can access information, photos, and documents related to important town dates and events.
One Room Schoolhouse Project: Highlight Our History
From the early 1800s until the 1960s, there were 21 one room schoolhouses throughout the Town. The Town is working with a committee to secure funding to commemorate these unique schools.